NEWS

What is happening with the Lupus Colorado Foundation.

House Bill 18-1370, a non-medical switching bill, has been assigned to the House Committee on Health, Insurance and Environment and will likely have a committee hearing date next week.

Non-medical switching occurs when health plans push patients from their regular prescription medication to a drug that’s less expensive for the health plan. This occurs when health plans:

Assign the medication a higher co-pay
Increase patients’ out-of-pocket requirements
Reduce the maximum plan coverage for prescription medications
Eliminate coverage for certain medicines

We need your help to ensure this bill passes!  Please contact members of the committee and urge them to support this important bill.  Contact information for each of the members of the committee are listed below as well as a sample email.

Joan Ginal (D)- Chair:  
303-866-4569;
joannginal@yahoo.com

Daneya Esgar (D) – Vice Chair: Daneya is our bill sponsor so please THANK her for championing this bill

303-866-2968;
daneya.esgar.house@state.co.us

Susan Beckman (R)
303-866-2953;
Susan.beckman.house@state.co.us

Phil Covarrubias (R):
303-866-2912;
Phil.Covarrubias.house@state.co.us

Edie Hooton (D):
303-866-2915;
edie.hooton.house@state.co.us

Stephen Humphrey (R):
303-866-2943;
rephumphrey48@yahoo.com

Dominique Jackson (D):
303-866-3911;
dominique.jackson.house@state.co.us

Chris Kennedy (D):
303-866-2951;
chris.kennedy.house@state.co.us

Lois Landgraf (R):
303-866-2946;
lois.landgraf.house@state.co.us

Susan Lontine (D):
303-866-2966;
susan.lontine.house@state.co.

Kim Ransom (R):
303-866-2933;
kim.ransom.house@state.co.us

James D. Wilson (R):
303-866-2747;
representativewilson@gmail.com

SAMPLE EMAIL

Please be sure to customize this email with a personal touch on why this bill is so important to you!Dear Representative __________,HB18-1370 (Representative Esgar, Representative Singer) is a much needed bill that would help patients in Colorado gain better access to the medications that they need and that their physician has prescribed. As a patient advocate, I ask you to provide your support for this bill when it is heard in the Health, Insurance & Environment Committee, and to support the bill on the House Floor when it is considered for final passage. Thank you for all you do for your constituents and the people of Colorado.